Why Tripadvisor Is Like Marmite

Like the mature 44 year I am, I spent most of last weekend stomping round the house saying “it’s not fair, it is JUST NOT FAIR” to anyone who would listen. My husband, after 30 minutes of “I know, it isn’t”  suddenly found something very important to do out in the shed, my daughter decided she urgently needed to go to the shops and even @murphythebnbdog  decided his paws were in immediate need of a good clean, best done the other side of the paddock.

So what sparked these middle aged tantrums? It was bound to happen sometime – I had my first “less than glowing” Tripadvisor review. I had actually been waiting for it all week. You know, as a B&B owner, when a guest is not happy.

I am friends with a lot of B&B owners and the majority of us work exceedingly hard to achieve the best possible experience for guests. We create comfortable places for people to stay, cook hearty breakfasts, bake cakes & biscuits, clean like mad and then greet guests with a smile & a chat. For most of us, the B&B is our home and an extension of our personalities.

But we’re also human, which means we’re not perfect and everyone’s expectation of what they will find at a B&B is different. One day, no matter how accurately you describe your B&B on the website or in your welcome email, someone will stay with you who just doesn’t get what you’re doing or they haven’t done their research carefully enough or something just goes wrong.

When someone writes something on the internet that is critical, and could damage your business (I’ve gone from #1 B&B in Shropshire on Tripadvisor to #10 because of that one review), it can be very hurtful. To many accommodation providers Tripadvisor is like Marmite, you love or hate it, depending on the reviews that have been written.

As B&B owners we have the right to reply to any review and “put the record straight”. However it’s not that simple. Behind many TA reviews there is another story or agenda and one that a smart B&B owner, though desperate to do so, will never put into print. A wise B&B owner will never make public the guest who walks off with your bathrobes, breaks the shower, cancels last minute, wrecks your room or smokes. Sometimes, no matter how painful, you just have to take it on the chin.

I think that the response a B&B owner gives to a TA review is sometimes more important than the review itself.  I had a splendid afternoon yesterday reading the responses one B&B owner gives to her negative reviews (always good therapy if you’re feeling a bit down about a review or guest comment). She really doesn’t come across very well at all, but says she has more people coming to stay as a result of her bad reviews.

So is it true that no publicity is bad publicity? I think for most of us, who want guests to visit us for what we offer in terms of comfort & relaxation, rather than because we come across as a female Basil Fawlty, we need to handle things a bit differently. Potential guests want to know, if they have a complaint whilst they’re staying with you, you’ll handle them calmly & not throw a hissy fit. If you get defensive on the internet how do they know you’re not going to do it in person?

There’s lot of advice out there on the best way to respond to negative online reviews. Heather, @forfeng, wrote an excellent post here.

 Here’s what I did.

  • I wrote the response I wanted to write in a WORD document. I embellished it, I made it funny, I then deleted it.
  •  I then put myself in the next guest’s shoes, the person who would be reading that review on TA. I wrote a response which was factual.
  •  I sat on it for a while, checked for any emotion, I rewrote it.
  • I then sent it to a fellow professional in the hospitality industry and asked for their honest opinion.

On the positive side it provides me with good material for my B&B courses. I have actually been through the process of responding to a negative review & come out the other end.

So do I like Marmite? At the moment I’m favouring a rather nice homemade apricot preserve………

About bedandbreakfastacademy

B&B Academy offers training courses to aspiring B&B owners. We offer a 2 day couse here at our own award winning B&B or online training via a series of daily emails. The course was reviewed by Sally Shalam of The Guardian "If anyone knows about B&B, Karen does"
This entry was posted in Running a B&B. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why Tripadvisor Is Like Marmite

  1. diana says:

    My Dear,
    Your response was measured and really mature. I totally feel your pain. There is a wonderful small hotel near us that has suffered the same way – we chat about it often. I have not gotten hit yet, but I am sure I will – I have a worse scenario at the moment – no 2010 reviews on TA! TA and reviews in general are always a double edged sword. I have no doubt that you will bounce out of this far ahead and get your number one status back post haste. Don’t sweat it. You are far too good for that. xoxo diana

    • Thank you Diana for your comments.
      That is very kind of you.
      Fingers crossed that you escape any future bad review – unfortunately no matter how hard any of us work, it is sometimes a matter of lucl & timing
      Karen xx

  2. Shellie Anne says:

    I tell our guests, “You know that relative you dread seeing once a year during the holidays? The one who corners you and forces their viewpoint down your throat with their stinky marmite breath in your face? Well, on occasion that relative goes to a B&B.”

    A bad review will give you an opportunity to be who you are, to share what you do and for others to realize that the stinky breath relative does indeed make the rounds.

    Here’s to the 99% of terrific guests who make innkeeping what it is! We applaud you! Come and visit us any time, we’ll put the kettle on…

  3. steve kaufer says:

    Indeed, I can tell you that we hear over and over again, that a polite, considered response to a bad or mediocre review can be a tremendous selling point for the service level of the establishment. Most travelers visiting TripAdvisor, near as we can tell, do NOT simply pick the first listing, but rather skim many of the top rated properties looking for the one that is right for them. To see a courteous management response is encouraging to many, and I always encourage every owner/manager to take advantage of the functionality.

    Sincerely,
    Steve Kaufer, Founder/CEO, TripAdvisor

  4. Roland says:

    If the trend continues we will soon be getting reviews (and responding to them) on twitter, not much time for a considered response then! Seems to work for a lot of big businesses at the moment.

  5. Hi, I know I’m one year late to the party, but I only just found this blog, and this post really resonated with me, as we had a similar experience. Hopefully your ratings have gone back up by now.

    we didn’t have such a drastic fall in ranks as you did, but it felt terrible having a one-star review as our most recent one. Luckily our rank was strong enough to fall only to the number 2 position.

    However, I saw the sweetest thing this morning that basically made up for the bad review. It was a new review that actually stood up for us! I realized that rankings don’t matter as much as creating guests like that; that should always be our best incentive.

    Anyway. .. that’s my (very late) two cents. 🙂

Leave a comment